Skip to content

Yay, gigs!

March 7, 2008

Y’know, considering the name of the blog is Stereotyping, I haven’t really been writing about music much lately.

There are a good couple of gigs coming up in the next few weeks and months that I really want to go to. Not sure if I’m going to make it to all of them but dammit! I’m gonna try!

Ham Sandwich are supporting Sultans of Ping on Saturday in Cyprus Avenue. I haven’t managed to see the Meteor winners yet and to be honest I’ve heard very little of their music. Unfortunately, I don’t think I could be arsed paying 18.50 to see them seeing as I doubt I’ll stay around for the Sultans afterwards. LUCKILY, they’re playing a solo gig five days later on the 13th for 8euro in Cyprus! Sorted!

– The UCC Live Music Societies Battle of the Bands final is on the 12th, again in Cyprus Avenue (they’re doing well for themselves this month!). I was the head of the LMS last year and I know how stressful the Battle of the Bands can be but I always enjoyed the final – the atmosphere is great, the bands are usually very good and it always seems the bands that make it to the final go on to thrive in the music scene in the city so it’s good to see them starting off.

Bats and Crayonsmith play…you guessed it, Cyprus on Friday, 14th. It was originally meant to be a Hooray For Humans gig, but my favourite electronic pop-rock act from Cork have been suffering some internal problems lately and had to cancel the gig. Bascially band members have been leaving left right and centre lately for various legitimate but inconveinient reasons, leaving only founder Alan Healy as the only original member. But I hear he’s managed to get his hands on a few new people. They’re only playing one remaining date on their Irish tour in Dolans on the 13th but they WILL be playing at the Freakscene 14th birtday, but I’ll get to that in a minute. I hope this new lineup works out because the Humans are a great live band and it seems Alan has a load of new material to unleash upon us.

Ping Pong have Felix Kubin playing in the Liquid Lounge on the 15th. I’ve never heard Felix Kubin, but that’s the thing about the Ping Pong lads. If they’re putting on a gig, it’s a pretty safe bet that it’s going to be good. I’m going to write about Ping Pong some other time, because they’re great!

– Sunday, 16th sees the launch of Sideproject‘s new EP, Not Waving But Drowning. This gig just happens to be in Cyprus Avenue, funnily enough. I have vested interest here as the guys are some of my best friends and I’ve done all the artwork for the EP. I’m considered the 6th member of the band apparently, so I’m kinda like the Nialler9 to their Super Extra Bonus Party. Their being supported by Elk, with new guitarist, and young guys Machismo.

Freakscene is celebrating it’s 14th birthday on the 19th, maintaining it’s title as Ireland’s longest running club night. They’ve got My Evil Ex, Hooray For Humans, Random Friend Selector, Carbon Copy and The Brazen Aces, Snowman and the UCC Choral Society playing. Watch out for The Brazen Aces – 3 girls doing pared down covers with 3 part harmonies. This will be only their third gig. They’re fantastic!

Fight Like Apes play Cyprus on the 23rd! What more need be said?

– I’m thinking I’m going to make it along to Lerner on the 27th as I haven’t seen them in a pretty long time and haven’t heard any of the new stuff.

– Ping Pong have Kling Klang in the Liquid Lounge on the 29th. (That sentence sounds kind of like something from a kids show.) Had a quick listen to these guys before and they sound very promising indeed.

Efterklang are in Cyprus on the 30th. I have the album on my iPod but I haven’t listened to it yet, so we’ll see about that one…

A little further ahead on the horizon we’ve got Waiting Room reforming for a gig (yay!) and (so giddy) SAUL WILLIAMS playing in May.

No comments yet

Leave a comment